jump to navigation

Donne moi un bonbon? September 5, 2009

Posted by lemauritius in Uncategorized.
trackback

If there’s a french phrase/statement I’ve mastered in Mauritius, this would be it. Everyday before, during and after class, I’d have students coming up to me, eyes twinkinling, best smile ready and all, asking me for (more) candy. It was cute at first, then got a little too much, then towards the end I wished I had more to give them. Now that I don’t get to hear this everyday, I’m showing withdrawal symptoms whereby I furiously go through a whole box of chocolate, in one sitting.

Anyway. I would describe my experience in Mauritius as sweet, like candy. Our students were the CUTEST kids ever: picking all the flowers in the church to give to us, drawing pretty pictures of us. In fact I thing they probably gave us more gifts than the prizes we gave them! Another sweet experience would be with my host family. They were AMAZING: overfeeding me, making sure I finished my 7th cake in a row, showing me around Bambous (where I stayed) and making sure that everyone in Bambous knew this Asian girl walking around their streets, and really adopting me as their 5th child. The island was obviously GORGEOUS as well. So yeah, I had a pretty sweet summer this year and for all of you waiting to go, I have no doubt that you’ll also have a SWEETTTTTTTTTTT time in Mauritius!

Comments»

1. Donne moi un bonbon? « Learning Enterprises Mauritius PY09 - mauritius news - September 6, 2009

[…] post: Donne moi un bonbon? « Learning Enterprises Mauritius PY09 'Mauritius co can claim IT relief under DTAA' – Economic Times …India in talks to […]


Leave a comment