jump to navigation

Reflection on trip August 20, 2009

Posted by lemauritius in Uncategorized.
trackback

Hello to everyone out there who is interested in Mauritius and Learning Enterprises-

I have recently returned from Mauritius where I served as an English teacher to children in Bambous.  I feel so lucky to have had this experience.  To me, the trip was entirely about living with a host family and teaching English.   My host family was Indian, they cooked amazing food, they were incredibly generous and caring, and I miss them dearly.   I really felt like a part of their family, and I will keep in touch with them, as I know how much they’ll appreciate hearing from me.  Living with a family provided a personal and intimate view of Mauritian culture.   I feel like I experienced so much more than the common traveler because of my opportunity to live with my Mauritian family. Teaching English was also amazing.  I loved planning lessons, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that teaching became easier with time.  Once my teacher partner and I figured out the swing of things, we were able to teach in what I believe to be an effective manner.  The biggest challenge in teaching was the varying English levels of our students.  And that is my brief reflection; overall the trip was an amazing experience!

Best, Lydia Armstrong

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment